To Post or Not to Post, That is the Question!

I’ve been slack in posting these last few months.  This annoys me, because I feel as a blogger I am expected to be consistent and provide regular updates.  I realize this isn’t a rule but my own conjecture. This self-pressure isn’t at all helpful since I’m not a production writer and force only tends to stifle any possible creativity.

I started this blog to share my experiences and emotions as I discover more about myself in this latter part of my life.  When I have tried to “force” a post, it has fallen short and emotionless and worse yet, it takes me an eternity to write.   Having just returned home from spending the last two months living in Costa Rica, I realized that I didn’t blog often during that time because I was busy living.  Just as facebooking can eat up large portions of your time, blogging can do the same.

Technology is amazing and wonderful but it does have it’s downside and we must be ever-alert in keeping the intrusion to a minimum.  I remember when I began blogging, wordpress was encouraging it’s members to join their “Blog Everyday for a Year.”  Oh, how I wanted to be included but I know now that it would have been a mistake for me.  I want my blogging to mesh with my life not pull me away from it.  I definitely don’t want to feel guilty or forced.  I love blogging and want to keep it that way!

So in the future, if you notice a break in my blogging, just realize I’m busy living!  I hope you are too!

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to To Post or Not to Post, That is the Question!

  1. Tristan says:

    I know what you mean. This is my very first blog and I wanted every post to be tremendous, but when I force it the results are so so. I’ve decided to only write what is dear to me.

  2. What you just said I find so refreshing. As writer I believe there is no such thing as “writer’s block” I write when I have something to say; I see blogging as a sort of whetting stone; it sharpenes my writing skills and after wards I dig deeper and write about what lays buried deeper inside of me. I’m so glad I found your blog!

    • dbdaze says:

      Glad to hear I’m not alone in my feelings toward blogging. Also I like your view on writer’s block. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  3. f-stop mama says:

    I could not agree more. I was just reading an article about simplifying your life. One of the things mentioned in the article was technology and how it can be such a time killer. More people need to have your attitude. Enjoy living life and don’t let all of the little things pile up and keep you from it. Nice post! (I will remember it the next time I am beating myself up for not blogging in a few days–that’s right I’m living)

  4. ~Digital.Remix.Revolution~ says:

    I tend to look at blogging as more of a public scrapbook. I also like trying to blog daily–my current blog only just started, but prior to this I had been blogging for about 6 or 7 years straight before I took a super-long hiatus (“living,” as you called it). Back then I was pretty young too when I first started, so I was literally blogging every day about just about everything from my woes to my accomplishments and dreams. This new blog I started though, I’ve decided to take a different approach to it and only post when I feel there is something worth mentioning or sharing–a lot of times topics that I don’t think I could talk to my own friends about for whatever reason.

    Anyway, saw your blog on “Freshly Pressed,” and I look forward to reading more from you, whenever you get the chance to blog. 🙂

    • dbdaze says:

      Thanks! Good luck with your own blog — you didn’t post your blog address so unfortunately I didn’t get the opportunity to check it out! 😦

      • Hi dbzaze! OMG I love your site it’s beautiful, I must get to Costa Rica, You are an outstanding writer and I shall return.

        Great Job
        De De Tillman
        Celebrity Blogger
        Hollywood, Caliofrnia
        dedetillmanblogs.wordpress.com

      • dbdaze says:

        Wow! De De, that means alot. I sure appreciate your encouraging comments. You have quite the site yourself, lady!!

  5. Judith says:

    Living does tend to get in the way. Enjoy!

  6. Bobbe McGill says:

    Yep.

Leave a Reply

