Home Sweet Home

House semi-hidden by tropical plants with the sign "Casa Zorro"

Casa Zorro

Bruce, Kayla, Tim and I are happily settled into our new “home away from home” here in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica.   A welcome basket with two bottles of wine, coffee, snacks, insect repellant, and a local map greeted us warmly when we arrived. 

Basket full of tea, wine, snacks, etc with welcome note

Welcome Basket

The coffee was the most welcomed item since we never remember to buy it until we wake up without it! 

Our new location has proven to be a great spot for a few reasons.  First off, the new Puerto Viejo Bakery is only three houses away!  A variety of fresh breads, delicious deserts and cold refreshing smoothies are all sold every day from 7 am to 7pm. 

Bruce and Tim ordering at the Puerto Viejo BakeryIf we tire of eating copous amounts of mouthwatering delicacies, they also sell healthy breakfasts and lunches too. 

The second reason this is a good location is that we are steps away from the beach and with 90 degree weather, the water looks almost as delicious as the items in the bakery.  The third reason is that it is within walking distance to town for Tim and Kayla.  Even so, a walk into town yesterday afternoon, left Kayla drenched in sweat.  (I may have found the answer to losing weight without exercise!)

Our walk into town also drew two friends out of their casas to greet us and a visit to Fernando who rented us bikes last year brought more sincere “welcome home” wishes.  As I predicted, Fernando was delighted with my attempts to communicate with him in Spanish.  So if everyone else fails me, it’s good to know that Fernando will gladly give me the time to prepare each word I speak!

Fernando gave us great deals on renting our  bikes during our second trip down to Puerto Viejo.  This time I came prepared to ask for a further deal.  I explained (in Spanish nonetheless!) that I did not want to rent but wanted to buy two bikes.  I had to revert back to English to explain that I wanted to donate them to a couple indigenous kids when we left.  Though this is not his normal practice, he agreed to selling us two bikes at $80 a piece.  He laughed at my boldness when I asked if he would  service the bikes for us during our two month stay and provide us with locks for an additional $20.  The laughter complete with the shaking of his head, were all the visual clues I needed that we had a deal! 

I have an update here … additional reason for this being a good location.  This afternoon as I rested out on our veranda, a young teenaged boy came by on a bicycle ladened down with bags of fruits and vegetables.  I was overjoyed to realize he would return every Friday and quickly released him of a good portion of his load.  While he drank the ice water I offered, I very happily filled our fridge with the contents of the generously filled bags of tomatoes, cucumbers, celery, carrots, and lettuce, as well as, a watermelon, two pineapples, and a bag of fresh local oranges.  Absolutely a perfect way to spend $7 and tomorrow is Saturday Market!!  That promises even more fresh and local delights! 

Sunshine, the inviting waters of the Caribean, fresh local fruits and vegies, and the warmth of friends — Home, sweet home!

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Life, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Sweet Home

  1. judithhb says:

    Well it may take me a while to travel from New Zealand to Costa Rica but expect me to call in one day – unannounced. 🙂
    Judith

  2. Linda says:

    Keep talking. I’m listening. And figuring out a way to join you.

  3. Bobbe McGill says:

    Wow.

  4. Shirley says:

    I want to move to Costa Rica! I hear that they have really GOOD Health Care… and many of OUR doctors from the U.S. have gone there, because Obama’s plan really sucks….

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

