Women, Your Day Has Arrived!

Predictions for a high of 48 today – Whoohoo!

Looks like I may be forced to actually use those new cleaning products I purchased earlier this week.  I have some pretty lofty cleaning ideas but I’m trying not to allow them all to surface at once and overwhelm me.  I actually love the way advertising can suck me into believing the job ahead will be quick and painless and the end result marvelous.

Cheerful woman dressed in pink smiles as she cleans.I must be extra careful though not to linger too long at the woman pictured in the advertisement.  She’s just a tad bit too happy and whole lot too clean!

Yes, of course, I find a surge of pride in the finished product but, if all be told, it must not fill me with enough pride because all interest in repeating said-activity quickly vanishes once the job is complete.  (And in all truthfulness, it has been known to vanish before said-activity has been fully completed.)

But today, I’m feeling good.  I’m ready to tackle the household chores with new vigor because, in this instance, there is a light at the end of the tunnel, a reprieve that lies directly ahead.  Listen up, ladies!

April 7

National No Housework Day

Cartoon image of a woman sitting with her feet up reading a book with cleaning supplies sitting along side unused.

 

Yes, indeedie, it is YOUR day!  Why this day is not more widely known, I have no idea but I plan to do my part to get the word out, as well as, celebrate it!  Woman walking away from a house fire saying “Well that takes care of the housework!"

No Housework Day means just that, no housework!  For one 24 hour period, you are exempt from doing any housework, which you will be glad to know includes cleaning, cooking and errands.  Nada!

So, ladies prepare!  Tomorrow is all yours!

Disclaimer: Sexual stereotyping is present in this post.  If you are a man reading this post or an ultra-feminist, rather than get your hiney up in the air, just replace the dang references from women to men.  Now wasn’t that easy-peasy!

About dbdaze

Retired two years ago and moved to Ajijic, Mexico where I am energized every day by the wonderfully sunny weather and warm engaging people. I am currently on a spiritual quest to become the best me I can become. This involves using my voice to honor my past experiences, both good and bad, and encouraging other women to step outside their comfort zone and spread their wings. ~ Namaste
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Women, Your Day Has Arrived!

  1. LindaLou says:

    DANGIT. I read this AFTER I got up at 4:45 to wash last night’s dishes before going to work! Can I take a raincheck on this holiday? I love the disclaimer at the end, Debbie.
    Linda

    • dbdaze says:

      Rainchecks? Absolutely! (By the way, no sane person would get up at 4:45 am to wash the dirty dishes. You may wish to get seen for that, before it gets worse!)

      • LindaLou says:

        I know, I know. But it was a way to serve my sweet husband who gets off work before me and would have felt compelled to wash them when he got home. He works such long hours and hard physical labor that I didn’t want him to come home and work some more.

        Yeah, I know. It sounds very martyr-ish, but it was very sincere. I’m not always that giving, so thought I should go with it.
        🙂

  2. Sonia VanDeHey says:

    I love this holiday so much that I’m considering celebrating it’s eve! 🙂 Happy No Housework Day Eve everyone!

  3. Shirley says:

    WHOHOO! I want to celebrate THIS HOLIDAY EVERY DAY!!

Leave a comment