Bringing Home the Bacon

Those of you who have been reading my blog lately, know that I’ve been a bit down lately – in a dark funk actually.  Well, I’m delighted to report that today was an ABSOLUTE GREAT day!

Now, if you’re from the local area here, you know that my improved mental status obviously had nothing to do with the weather, since it was neither sunny nor warm today.  I also did not win the lotto (probably due to the fact that I don’t play) nor did I lose any weight (unfortunately).

I DID get a morning phone call however from my niece, Katie, who had noticed that I hadn’t been posting to Facebook and then discovered from reading my blog that I had been fighting the funk.  I can’t think of anything nicer than having someone take the time to call and check on me.  How very sweet.  Thank you, Katie!

I also received some comments via the net: a couple folks who commiserated with me; my daughter who reminded me that I had much to be thankful for; a few who played the Glad Game to help kickstart my “thankfulness”;  and Sandy who basically cyberkicked my butt, telling me in so many words to get busy and return to writing my blog! I love you all!!

So …. was it my friends and family that changed my mental state?  Definitely everyone’s genuine care and concern was responsible for providing the nudge I needed to make a start but, in all honesty, there was one additional thing that was the ultimate tie breaker — and my granddaughter, Kiana, would be proud — BACON!

Yes siree bob, bacon, plain and simple.  Do you know how long it has been since I ate bacon?  Well, my intelligent health conscious part, would say that I have made extremely good choices for quite some time but my “throw caution to the wind” side, would say it has been “way too long.”  I actually think the seed was planted when my friend Linda’s husband recently got hired at Hempler’s because this morning when I had to drive into Bellingham, bacon was oddly on my mind, and when lunch rolled around, I devoured the most delicious BLT sandwich.  (There is something to be said about “comfort” food)

Only problem is that I can’t rely on bacon to keep my mental state healthy so if our representatives could just restore the program funding for the most needy in our country and stop the tax loop holes for the rich, I could sleep a whole lot better at night.  Just saying.

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bringing Home the Bacon

  1. April says:

    I love bacon….

  2. MamaJRA says:

    Are you a Princess Bride fan, perhaps? Remember the fabulous tribute to the MLT? Mutton, lettuce and tomato sandwich. Next best thing to true love. “Its so perky!”

  3. Linda says:

    Get the Avenue Club. Guess what’s on it. Hempler ham AND bacon! Along with turkey and veggies and so yummy you want to bawl. not kidding. I had it yesterday.

  4. Deidra says:

    Haha, Kiana WOULD be proud! I also rarely eat bacon but yesterday Karen gave me half of her BLT from Avenue Bread. OMG it was Sooooo good! It even had avocados on it, yummmm! I’ve come to the conclusion that maybe I don’t even have to feel guilty about eating a BLT….since the bacon is totally smothered with veggies! If it makes you happy….then I’m glad to hear you’re “living on the edge”. Love you.

    • dbdaze says:

      Deidra, Avenue Bread (as you should know) is my fav spot for lunch but I have yet to order ANYTHING other than the turkey/cranberry sandwich …. EVER! I love it soooo much I just can’t get any other words out of my mouth when I approach the girl at the counter taking orders. But, just maybe, I could try their BLT next time since your description sounds delish AND the veggies really should counter any difficulty I might have in consuming the bacon. Thanks for your stamp of approval, dear.

  5. Linda says:

    Well I’m glad we inspired you to partake in one of God’s greatest gifts to mankind: Bacon. I eat it 4 or 5 times a week.

Leave a Reply

