I Am Sure I Am Too Young To Be This Old!

This year I will be 60.   Sixty?  Even I know that is REALLY REALLY old!   It was supposed to take forEVER to reach this ancient milestone.   Why the heck is it right around the corner?  I distinctly heard myself asking Bruce this morning when I would be eligible for Medicare.

Medicare?   I’m too young to be inquiring about Medicare!

Medicare CardSixty years doesn’t just “sneak up” on a person.  If this is such a really old age, why didn’t it seem like a really long time in arriving?  Something is very wrong here because truthfully, I’ve just barely begun!!  I mean really, I’m not even done parenting yet!  (Okay, okay, having 9 kids did stretch things out a bit, I guess)  But, I am SURE I am too young to be this old!

Along with technology, space travel and reality TV shows, there has been some sneaky business going on and I, for one, want to get to the bottom of it.  This next question is just for those who are 40+ years old.  Do you remember how long it took for Christmas or your birthday to arrive?  Let me remind you …. F O R E V E R !!!  A year was a year.  In fact, just waiting for the next day to arrive, was unbearably long.  Now it has obviously been reduced to a mere fraction of that time because we all know that we barely get our Christmas decorations put away before it’s time to break them out all over again!!  I ask, how unfair is that!

I find as I get older, that I need more time to get started, more time to move, more time to remember, more time to make decisions, more time to sleep, etc.  More time … not less.

Ready or not …. warp speed ahead!

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Aging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Am Sure I Am Too Young To Be This Old!

  1. judithhb says:

    Hi again. Well just wait until you reach 70! That was a huge milestone and even two years later, I don’t know who stole all those years between 30 and 70.

    • dbdaze says:

      Most folks just want me to be thankful for being alive … and don’t get me wrong, I AM but it doesn’t diminish the fact that those years went by wayyyyy too fast. Thanks for agreeing.

  2. i remember the summer holidays seemed to last a lifetime, now im not sure where this mornign went!!!

    • dbdaze says:

      I’m with ya on that one! I used to plan 1 week vacations, now it’s 2 months. I fear if it’s anything less, I won’t remember I even took one!! lol

  3. Barbara Snow says:

    I keep reminding myself that getting older is better than the alternative…….The women in my water fitness classes get started on how old they are, how fast holidays and birthdays come……..and when we were little all of that took forever! I guess we are all in that same melancholy time of mourning our youth and looking forward to being “really old”………However, I keep reminding myself that it wasn’t too long ago that women of a “certain age” were relegated to house dresses and aprons……..and now it is sweats and and running shoes……so it is true, we have come a long way baby! In spite of all of that, as your hair turns shades of gray, your wrinkles become more pronounced, and it seems like mysterious ailments come from somewhere to land in your lap…..you do feel way too young to be this old! I turned 73 this past year……and what a struggle that has been……I can’t possibly be that old! My hopes and dreams need to get reevaluated. However I am glad that I have friends like you Debbie, who remind me that we are all on this journey together regardless of what age we are. I tell myself every morning that this will be a good day…….I must admit, that it is hard to do that some days! I think that the sun will be out today……..well……maybe!

    • dbdaze says:

      As my “elder” (lol), I feel I have much to learn from you, Barbara! Though my posts always come from my deepest and truest feelings, they are also tinged with a bit of humor — usually to lessen the pain — but I love your uplifting outlook on life in general. Though I didn’t see any comments to my offers to play the Glad Game the other day and was disappointed — you of all people, could have had me doubled over in stitches! And, Barbara, I totally believe in the words from Pollyanna’s song Tomorrow: “The sun’ll come out tomorrow, Bet your bottom dollar, That tomorrow there’ll be sun” but you darn well better own a Sunlight Therapy Lamp! (Sometimes you just have to take matters into your own hands)

Leave a Reply

