The Color of Cancer

I like New Orleans and I love my surgeon, as well as the staff at St. Charles Surgical center but sure wish I wasn’t making so many new friends because of cancer. A volunteer at the Hope Center gave Bri and I a ride to the grocery store today. She told us to be sure to come to the dinner at the lodge on Monday evening — her family was hosting it in memory of their son. He died just over a year ago. He was 20 years old. Bri and I had dinner last night with a woman and her husband from Idaho. She was here for stage 1 reconstruction after having just completed her chemotherapy. Her head was nicely wrapped in a colorful scarf to cover her bald head. I shared the hospital floor with 12 other cancer victims. All lovely people but I wish our meeting could be under different circumstances.

Like many other cancer victims, I hate the color pink. Pink is a cute color that little girls wear as they start life. It’s a happy color. It is NOT the color of cancer! The color of cancer is ugly, it takes life not gives it. It is not cute nor happy. I think it should be “puke.”

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Health, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Color of Cancer

  1. judithhb says:

    Count me in but where to buy puke in New Zealand? As a ten year survivor of breast cancer I say it’s great that you are so positive. My thinking when I heard from my surgeon was – cut it out so I can get on with the next 30 plus years of my life

    • dbdaze says:

      A fellow survivor sister in New Zealand!! Finding puke anywhere is a bit of a problem … I may have to work on that! Congrats on 10 and wishing you many more!

  2. Linda says:

    and you know I meant like, not live…responding from my phone which I plan to swear off soon. đŸ™‚

  3. Linda says:

    I adore your honesty. And it never occurred to me to think that maybe the survivors if the disease we all fight might not live the symbol chosen. From now on, I shall wear puke.
    Linda

  4. Erika says:

    I agree lady, I LOVE the friends I’ve made through this journey. However it’s the worst circumstances I could never have imagined. Pink always was my least favorite color, and now I just can’t stomach it at all! NOLA is the best place ever though, and if we had to endure this at least Dr S and the staff is like the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

    • dbdaze says:

      I find it hard not to cry when I think of Dr. S, his staff and the nurses at St. Charles. They are amazing people. A “pot of gold” is a perfect description, Erika.

Leave a Reply

