Danger: Dry Ground Ahead

After 26 days of posting every single day, I think my mind has literally been purged!  I usually write my blog the night before and schedule it for publication bright and early the next morning.  But lately, my mind seemed capable of only producing “partial” blogs, requiring me to return to it the next morning for the finishing touches.  Last night, my mind was alive with incessant chatter but, try as I may, I could seize nothing of interest.  I think it most interesting, that when we demand our brain to produce, our creative powers just shut down.  It’s as if the “well of ideas” has run dry.

It’s funny because when I would set out to write a new blog post, I was always so curious as to what I would create.  Often, it was as if I was not even in control.  Within a few minutes, an idea always took form and then the fun began — letting the ideas rumbling around and around, until they spit out words unique and in my own voice.  I enjoyed the anticipation of the ending result.

Well, writer’s block is definitely not enjoyable.  You wonder where your thoughts and ideas have gone.  The more you force yourself to produce, the more resistant your mind becomes.  It begins with frustration and quickly mushrooms into fear.  I have to laugh but, at the same time, sympathize with Gene Flowler’s description of writing: “All you do is sit staring at a blank sheet of paper until drops of blood form on your forehead.”

Knowing that I will indeed revisit this labored, awkward block in writing many times over, I have chosen a few quotes that may ease the pain and loosen the thoughts:

  1. You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you. ~Arthur Plotnik
  2. Fill paper with the breathings of your heart. ~William Wordsworth
  3. The seat of the pants to the seat of the chair. ~ Mary Heaton Vorse
  4. Five ice cubes, place in clean glass, add vodka. ~ Phil Mushnick

Here’s hoping you will hear from me tomorrow.  As for now, I’m off to play. And btw, these tips are not necessarily in order of importance…just saying.


About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

