Glimpses into the Mind

Lately my mind has been quite active.  Unfortunately for you, the reader, there have been no big revelations, rather short bursts of amusing contemplations.

************

Growing up I never noticed my parents “working” on their relationship.  I didn’t see them reading any books  like “Men Are From Mars and Women Are From Venus,” “The Five Love Languages,” or the “Joy of Sex.”  They didn’t attend marriage retreats or counseling, to strengthen their relationship, deepen their  commitment or increase their desire.  And despite all that, they remained in a committed relationship for over 50 years.

Today, you’re pretty much committing marital hari kari if you don’t do ALL of the above!

************

I didn’t enter into my married life with culinary skills.  I actually remember the first time I attempted to make spaghetti and a roommate pointed out that it was best to wait until the water was boiling before adding the noodles!  Over the years, I improved but there is nothing spectacular about my cooking.  It might have turned out differently, if I hadn’t discovered that being a gourmet cook translated into a progressive increase in weight!  I am at a complete loss to understand how some folks cook amazing meals and delicious deserts and stay trim.  I struggle with weight gain on a diet of mediocre meals!

************

Why does our culture frown on folks who spend the day in bed?  I can only believe that those whom maintain that this sedentary activity is a serious sign of depression, have never experienced the luxury.  Next to a gourmet meal, the splendor of lying in a warm, cozy bed (engaged in an activity of your choice or not) with no concerns or responsibilities, is most scrumptiously satisfying. The problem lies with the guilt we sometimes feel for engaging in this non-activity.  Before I die, I want to reach the stage where I could answer a phone call at 1pm and gleefully respond,  “I am still in bed”  when asked what I am doing.  No guilt, just pure bliss!

************

Children nowadays have opportunities that never existed in my day.  (Ewww, my gosh, that makes me sound old!) Young toddlers attend music or gymnastic camps.  Preschoolers enjoy ballet and art classes, and actually begin playing organized sports, like soccer and baseball.  Guess it’s all very wonderful but I’m not at all jealous.  I grew up with something known as “free time” – time to play, to invent, to imagine.  The limits of my mind, and the physical boundaries my parents set, were my only restrictions.  Each day was a new adventure and the best part was that I got to choose each and every one.  I wouldn’t have given those opportunities up for any number of classes or camps.  And strangely enough, I was rarely bored.

************

One of my earliest memories, is my frequent visits to our town’s library.  I was very fortunate indeed to grow up one block away from a small, quaint library of which I made daily visits from my earliest of years.  I love books and reading, and feel especially proud that I was able to pass this enjoyment down to all my children.  Whenever we went on an extended family vacation, we first scouted out the local library, enrolled, and returned to our “home-away-from-home” laden with books.

But our libraries need to progress with the times!  It is beyond my comprehension why  our libraries don’t have comfy couches, the warmth of a fireplace, and serve espresso drinks.  And why they don’t offer “home-delivery” boggles my mind!   I can get pizza delivered, no matter where I am on this planet, so why not books, which are far more important than pizza!  Obviously, they are not considering  the needs of people who are sick at home, unable to get to the library, or those who (see above) may be lounging in bed all day and need a bit of literary nourishment?

Yes, I believe, my beloved libraries have disappointed me.

************

Lately I have been filled with a curiosity concerning the “mind.”  When I was younger, my mind knew the rules and had no trouble following them.  Translated, that meant when it was time to sleep, my mind rested.  If I needed to worry, I could begin again in the morning.  Well, as far as I can tell, a change took place as the years began to pile up.

My sleep pattern is beyond crazy.  I find I become extremely drowsy about 7:30 at night, fall asleep anywhere between 30 and 60 minutes, and then awaken with a mission.  Now this mission is not always clear, but my body and mind obviously have no problem awaiting further instructions.

Whereas, I sometimes appreciate the quiet hours of the night to write on my blog or download files (hughesnet graciously extends “free time” during the wee hours of the night) I would prefer a more typical sleep pattern.  I am a little reluctant to believe that this will surely pass.  I lean more towards the belief that this is just another unwelcome development of the whole “old age” thing.  Sucks!

************

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Glimpses into the Mind

  1. Pingback: This Week On Facebook: « The Atkins: In This Life of Ours

Leave a Reply

