God’s Sense of Humor

We are parents to nine children.  It wasn’t planned, it just happened.  My husband brought two children into our marriage, and then we had three home-made babies.  Oh, my goodness, I remember those days.  Three babies…all two years apart.  I used to pray daily asking God to bless me with more patience, and that’s when I discovered that God has quite the sense of humor.  In my mind, I figured he would just plop some extra patience onto my plate as I slept and I’d wake to find the “new” me.  This isn’t exactly what happened, in fact, it’s nowhere even close!

Asian toddler happily sitting on a riding toy

Little Timmy

God sent us Tim …. three and a half years old but functioning on a 6 -12 month old level.  Though he could sit, and he could roll, he hadn’t learned to crawl and certainly not walk.  He was being spoon-fed by his caretaker, in diapers,  and had mastered less than a dozen single words.  First of all, let me say I was head-over-heals in love with this little boy but there were challenges.  Without even realizing what was happening, I was changing.  My patience levels were increasing if for no other reason than simple survival, but I wasn’t just surviving, I was thriving!  I learned to keep commitments to a minimum, to lower my daily expectations , to be ready to scrap the best of plans if needed without any resentment, to “go with the flow” letting each day unfold as it may.  If I must say so myself, patience was quite becoming on me!

Asian baby girl asleep on a bean bag chair

Baby Kayla

I guess God figured he’d test my patience once more, on a much grander level this time, when he sent Kayla.  The most adorable baby imaginable … 18 months old but it was if Kayla’s little nervous system was raw and exposed to the elements.  She was easily overwhelmed (hypersensitive) by sounds, touch, and tastes.  I hadn’t seen tantrums to this extent EVER!  But ever true to His word, God taught me how to provide the trust this little one needed and my patience once again soared.  I like to think that angels carried me through the next two years because in looking back, I can’t imagine how I survived the test.

Young boy and girl standing together

Larry & Brianna

Larry and Brianna (our last home-made child) followed and our family was complete completed our family.  (Sorry but this was edited in response to comments below)  We’ve had our fair share of challenges but we weathered the storms and enjoyed the smooth sailing that came between each one.  We aren’t a perfect family but we are family. And a pretty darn good one, if I say so myself.

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Life, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God’s Sense of Humor

  1. April says:

    It was suppose to be off; not of….LOL

  2. April says:

    Thank you for sharing this… As I’m sure you know; I too have often been pissed of at God, only to be reminded that He and He alone has kept my sanity. Love is an amazing bond that is shared between a Mother and her children. Aren’t we blessed He thought enough of our talents, and of us to give us charge of these wonderful little creatures!
    Thanks for reminding me…… Love to you my friend….

  3. Sonia says:

    I thought Bri came before Kayla? 🙂 Reguardless– Way to go debbie, you are a superwoman!

  4. mariahday says:

    Thanks for posting pics of Sean, Tami, Deidra, Dustin and Me! ;P I miss how cute everyone was!!! Wait, didn’t Larry come BEFORE Kayla????

    • dbdaze says:

      Ahhhh…Mariah — I figured you wouldn’t be satisfied to actually “share” a page with your siblings. Your turn will come, my dear. This article was on God’s sense of humor.

      And btw dear, a woman who has had 9 children is lucky to remember the NAMES of those children — the placement in the family is so secondary!!! (In other words, I messed up)

Leave a Reply

