Quotations To Live By

I’d like to do a weekly post showcasing some of my favorite quotes from the famous and not-so-famous. Quotes are great way to begin some mindful reflection.  Though I will include my own ponderings from time to time, feel free to jump in and leave your own thoughts!

And now … our pondering shall commence:

Your time is limited, don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma, which is living the result of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinion drown your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition, they somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.    ~ Steve Jobs

As social beings we can very easily “become” what someone wants us to be without realizing it’s  even happening.  Some of us are “pleasers”, we work to  keep others happy,  to not disappoint.  We tend to be praised for our easy-going attitude and willingness to bend and be molded.  It may look healthy, but  more often than not, we become “lost”, even to ourselves. Others  of us are  ultra-sensitive to criticism and therefore, learn not to listen to our own mind, not to risk  speaking out  for fear of being criticized.

To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment. ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

We all need to spend time  reflecting — that time spent quietly listening to our heart.  It’s during this time, we can hear our own voice.  We weren’t put on this earth to be someone else.  We have a purpose that is all our own.  We need to trust, to find the courage to be who we were meant to be.

The best day of your life is the one on which you decide your life is your own.  No apologies or excuses.  No one to lean on, rely on, or blame.  The gift is yours – it is an amazing journey – and you alone are responsible for the quality of it.  This is the day your life really begins. ~ Bob Moawad

And as parents, we can set the groundwork: we can be ever alert to the gifts of our children.  Help them to recognize and use the gifts they have been given, even if it isn’t what we had in mind for them.

**********

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.     ~ Mark Twain

Ah, how I love this quote from Mark Twain.  It gives me the courage to take risks.

Failure should be our teacher, not our undertaker. Failure is delay, not defeat. It is a temporary detour, not a dead end. Failure is something we can avoid only by saying nothing, doing nothing, and being nothing. ~ Denis Waitley

If we take risks, we eventually will fail.  We didn’t botch it, or screw up.  We weren’t inadequate or deficient.  We attempted; we exerted ourselves; we experimented. Thomas Edison had a healthy outlook on this subject: “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”

Some days even my lucky rocketship underpants won’t help.  ~ Calvin & Hobbes

**********

I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians.  Your Christians are so unlike your Christ. ~ Mahatma Gandhi

I hope no one will be offended by this  but beware, because this holds much truth.  I think of the people I have met along my journey.  The ones who made the greatest impact were Christians who did nothing more than lived out their beliefs.  They never preached, they didn’t have to, because their life said it all.  They left me with a yearning to become more like them.  I think too of the Christians who preached, pressured and condemned – I remember none of what they said, only that I never ever wanted to be like them.

**********

Why can we remember the tiniest detail that has happened to us, and not remember how many times we have told it to the same person?   ~ Francois de la Rochefoucauld

Parts of growing old suck — not all of it but certainly some, like forgetfulness.  I have trained my family to cover for me.  When we are out and run into someone who I don’t introduce them to, they are to rightly assume I cannot remember this person’s name.  Therefore, they are to interject: “Hi, I’m _____ and who are you?”  Of course, then I will profusely apologize for my lack of good manners at not introducing them sooner.

This secretive family cover-up is becoming much too frequent and I think I’m about ready to join the “I’m sorry. I forgot your name” crowd.  Eventually, it will become, “My apologies, but how do I know you?”

All my life I’ve wanted, just once, to say something clever without losing my train of thought. ~Robert Brault

Thank God, old age doesn’t also steal our sense of humor!

The only reason I would take up jogging is so that I could hear heavy breathing again. ~ Erma Bombeck

**********

Delayed thinking is one of my biggest downfalls.  I so often realize things after the fact!

Why does Sea World have a seafood restaurant?  I’m halfway through my fish burger and I realize, Oh my God …. I could be eating a slow learner. ~ Lynda Montgomery

**********

I like to leave you with this poem:

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest! If you must-but never quit.
Life is queer, with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a failure turns about
When he might of won if he’d stuck it out;
Stick to your task, though the pace seems slow
You may succeed with one more blow.

Success is failure turned inside out
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt
And you may never can tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems afar;
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit
It’s when things seem worse that YOU MUSN’T QUIT. ~ Anonymous

 



About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quotations To Live By

  1. Linda says:

    On behalf of the christians you knew who preached, pressured, and condemned…can I just apologize right now? And I truly hope Rick and I were not in that category. I struggle so much with this same thing Debbie.

Leave a Reply

