Rustic Pleasures

I reserved a small house in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica today.   Tim will continue his treatments with Don Candido, Kayla will spend the majority of her time in the warm Caribbean water, and I will enjoy renewing the friendships begun last summer.  Bruce will revel in the tropical weather but he will also find it difficult to exist without his beloved golf game.  To accommodate his addiction, it has been decided that whereas Tim, Kayla and I will stay for the entire 2 months, he will return after a month and Brianna, who will have stayed  behind to care for things back home, will then fly down to join us for the last month.

At first I wasn’t so keen on this plan but, I must agree,  it  does make things easier.  The search for a house/animal sitter makes an extended trip much more complicated and expensive.  And, if all be told, I believe spending time apart, from time to time, is healthy for most any couple.  When together, it’s both natural and important to give thought to your spouse as you plan your  activities.  When apart, you are free to indulge in activities from a much more selfish standpoint.  I find I  have little guilt extending my stay in bed when Bruce isn’t around.  I also choose activities that I know he isn’t particularly fond of and would agree to, just to accommodate me.  He, on the other hand, most likely will spend most of his waking hours on the golf course guilt-free.  It’s a win-win opportunity!

I’m glad we are returning for another reason too — because I’m not sure that the small, rustic, laid-back town of Puerto Viejo will remain so for much longer.  The southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica is the only undeveloped coast area remaining.  It has remained that way due to the difficulty in reaching it but that changed last year when a new highway went in.  It will only be a matter of time before Puerto Viejo and the small towns surrounding it, are targeted for development.  Whereas I appreciate the help this will bring to the economy of the area, I cringe to imagine the loss of the culture and rustic beauty.  Such beauty abounds in the simplicity of this town.

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

