Don’t Believe Humpty Dumpty – You CAN Be Put Back Together!

 

Back to my life at hand — my Stage 2 Reconstruction surgery is scheduled for February 17 in New Orleans.  Brianna will accompany me this time to act as my caretaker after surgery, while Bruce remains home with our three other children.  Just between you and me, I think he’s a bit bummed that Dream Dinners has gone out of business.  Without their help, he realizes he’s in for a bit more work than he anticipated.

This surgery only requires an overnight hospital stay if all goes well, so Bri and I have reservations to stay in a hotel in the French Quarter after my release.  This location will certainly encourage the walking the docs recommend after surgery.  Though not planned, we’ve recently discovered that we will be in New Orleans for the first of their many Mardi Gras parades!  Totally stoked!!   Our hotel is just around the corner from the parade’s route so we’re hoping we get a good view!  I also scored half-priced two hour Segway tours for us through Social Living.  The question is, do I have the coordination to balance myself on this type of transportation.  It will suck if I’m not able to, not to mention, be terribly embarrassing. Maybe the tour guide will ride tandem with me, like they do in Costa Rica when you are too fearful to do the ziplining alone.  LOL

I’m really looking forward to this surgery — hopefully my last step to becoming physically whole again.  I’m especially excited to wear sundresses again this year.  Last year the whole time in Costa Rica, I had to wear a tank top under my sundresses to accommodate the prosthetic.  Very uncool — both physically, as well as, mentally.

It’s not surprising that my decision for reconstruction has done wonders for my mental health but didn’t realize it might spill over into other areas.  Lately I’ve been driven to improve my overall health, as well.  Other than the daily bike rides in Costa Rica last summer, I’ve consistently dismissed all opportunities to become active.  I know this worried Bruce.  And of course, it’s possible depression may have played a part, but I’m reveling in this new healthy concern I have for myself.

And, btw, whoever thought up replacing missing breasts with abdominal fat — I LOVE YOU!!

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t Believe Humpty Dumpty – You CAN Be Put Back Together!

  1. Bruce says:

    Try not to think about your doddering old hubby, he of the ungrateful stomach and aching back, who will be getting up at 5:30 AM to fix breakfast, drive Larry off to catch the bus by 6:30, (usually a shared task), get back in time to help Kayla catch the school bus by 7, fix breakfast for Tim, Chi-ling, Chase and one very loud mewling cat. Knowing that it’s not you having to do that should make any pain you have feel a whole lot better.
    BTW: love your blog

  2. LindaLou says:

    So, surgery? Or VACATION!? 🙂

    Totally excited for you Debbie, but I’m not sure if I’m more excited for your surgery or all the fun you’ll have down there!! Sure you don’t need a photographer to tag along and document the journey???

    Linda

    • dbdaze says:

      I must confess, combining the two does take the mind off of the pain. Last November when I returned from my surgery in New Orleans, I left 75 degree weather, delicious Cajun foods, and maid service to return home to snow, and “mom-reality!” The pain from surgery just got alot more intense!! lol

  3. Bobbe McGill says:

    Regarding replacing missing breasts with abdominal fat: Where can I donate?

Leave a Reply

