Tweaking the Golden Years

I recently discovered  the meaning of the “Golden Years,” and I was stunned.  The Golden Years apparently is the time after you retire when you are enjoying good health, wealth, and a meaningful life.  That worries me …

First off, I think my cancer diagnosis last year pretty much denies me membership into the “good health” club.  I wonder what my chances are  to tweak the membership rules if I promise to continue  my relationship with Barney, my eliptical training machine, on a daily basis ad nauseam. Perhaps, when I visit Candido, the indigenous medicine man that treated Tim in Costa Rica last summer, he will deem me healed and in “good health.”

The next prerequisite is “wealth.”  I’m pretty sure they’re talking financial wealth and I’m pretty sure, I don’t qualify.  Of course that could all change tomorrow … I could win the lottery!

So, we’ve got two possible “maybe’s” and  I’m thinking this isn’t going so great.  The third and last is a “meaningful life.”  I actually spend a great deal of time contemplating what would bring true meaning to my life.  For me a “meaningful life” is equivalent to “making a difference.”

Good health and a meaningful life, go hand in hand.  Financial wealth doesn’t really appeal to me.  Of course, I need money but wealthy??  I would prefer to be comfortable.

Soooo….if you don’t meet the criteria, where does that land you?  I like to think I’m entering the “Enlightened Years”.  The time in later life when you are enveloped  in the blissful knowledge that nothing is more important than the love of family and friends.



About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Aging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tweaking the Golden Years

  1. LindaLou says:

    You already lead a meaningful life Deb. You make a difference in the lives of every person you meet. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

