With A Little Help From My Friends

Friends are folks you meet along your journey in life.  Some remain connected forever, some wander in and out from time to time, and others are just there for a specific time before they are on their way.

Forever Friends:  It’s easy to see the value in the friends that remain — we connect with them in person, by phone or e-mail on a consistent basis.  They are the people we call to share the highs and lows of our life.  It’s hard to imagine life without them.

Sporadic Friends:  Because we don’t often see our friends who just appear from time to time, we don’t remember their value until we’re back in touch and then a flood of memories and feelings surface and we realize how lucky we are to count them as “friends.”

Short-term Friends:  These are the folks that enter our life just for a specific purpose — to share a momentous event or guide us through a tragedy.  They remain long enough to leave their mark and they’re gone.  Don’t fool yourself, they have made a difference.  We may struggle to remember their names, as time passes, but the experiences and lessons learned remain with us forever.

We are influenced, impacted, and forever changed by our friendly encounters and relationships.  They meet us on our journey, walk with us a time (short or long).  They are extremely important to who we are and who we become.

This post is dedicated to a person who for years was a “short-term” friend, who became a solid rock for me as I dealt with the after-effects of a devastating and life-changing event in my life.  Recently, she upgraded to “sporadic.”  (And yes, upgrades are possible!)

What are the chances of her reappearing years later in my life, just as I am dealing again with the after-effects of another personal set-back?  Strange, huh?  She brings a reminder, not of dark times, but of friendship,  laughter and trust.  She has taught me more then she will ever know through her stories and her life.

So today I’d like to thank my former neighbor, and friend, Linda, who is my new wordpress mentor.  She also featured my blog yesterday in her Five on Friday post.  I love that lady!

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to With A Little Help From My Friends

  1. LindaLou says:

    Oh My! So THIS is what it feels like to be reading along and suddenly realize someone is writing about you! Thank you Debbie. I’m so glad we’ve reconnected. I anticipate In Person time in our near future!
    Linda

Leave a Reply

