Growing Old

I realize I never gave any thought to growing old when I was younger, other than believing it was a l-o-n-g way off.  Long way, my foot!!  It is almost as if one day I was young, and the next day old. Up until I was 50, I actually was shocked that I didn’t see the young, toned, slimmed me of younger years when I glanced in the mirror but somewhere after 50, I dropped that expectation.  I didn’t feel young.

I started making noises as I attempted to get out of bed each morning.  Who was that person anyway and someone please tell me why I was making such sounds?? Had I lost my self-respect along with my toned body?

And don’t get me started on the small print with directions on  any new food product I bought.  Good God!  I am at best, a “fair to middlin'” cook, but without the proper instructions, it becomes very chancy indeed to be a family member in my house!

In the morning I would excitedly make plans for dinner and a movie but by 5 pm, I was frantically hoping I could cancel — an early bedtime seemed so much more appealing.  My sweet daughter, Brianna, finally sat me down and explained that I had to push myself to make the effort to go places in the evening.  What she doesn’t understand is that even if I could muster up the effort, I would need to leave shortly after arriving, since WebMD.com tells me it’s important to maintain a consistent bedtime at my age.  By my calculations, deducting the time spent driving into town and back, I would have, at best, an hour in order to maintain my 8pm bedtime. What part of that doesn’t she understand?

And what’s up with these miniature cell-phones these days?  It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see that the fingers of a “mature” hand will have little success manipulating the keypad on these suckers.  I have always enjoyed making new friends, but there’s only so many folks  interested in developing a new friendship  when I make those wrong number calls.

Yes, old age snuck up on me.   I’m warning you, don’t be deceived — old age is just around the corner, no matter what your current age!

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Aging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing Old

  1. Barbara Snow says:

    Growing old isn’t for sissies! I keep telling myself that…..but I have to agree….that the days and years creep up while you are doing something else…….and wham, all of a sudden your joints creak, you can’t hear the TV, your energy level needs an Eveready battery, you fart a bit and don’t care who hears you, you most certainly need glasses to read anything…..you spend more time trying to decide if you will do something and feel relieved when it is too late to do it…..but your eyes sort of light up when someone tells you that you “look good” for your age….(whatever that is ) and that helps when you read the obits in the paper and see that there are lots of folks leaving the planet that are younger than 73……so I guess we should be glad that we are getting old Debbie and not dealing with the alternative……..I think it would be way too cold in the ground these days, so I am going to opt for all of the bumps in the road that come with adding years to my life….and I would sure like company. I think we are on our way, Debbie! I often get stuck in the “way I used to be”………..

    • dbdaze says:

      I’m right there with ya, sister! I AM very glad that I’m still on this planet and am functioning in an effective way, of sorts. My head swirls with ideas and dreams — I delight in knowing they are all possibilities, since I’m still here, and hoping at least a few will still actually materialize.

      I always did always prefer the “road less taken” so bumps, I am accustomed but for the first time, the bumps are leaving “bruises” and the recovery isn’t quite as quick these days! Still, I am in total agreement with you, Barbara, life IS preferable!

Leave a Reply

