Tolerating

I had an operation in November 2010, with a follow-up operation to come next month.  Since the body that I currently reside in, has chosen to veer off course, I decided that it may actually help if I became a bit more physically active.  Active…such an easy description of my life, in my younger years, but as time has passed, my activities have become less “active.”  A few years ago, we purchased a used LifeFitness Cross Trainer elliptical machine.  But like folks who purchase computers only to play solitaire, our eliptical had only one purpose. And in this regard, it has served us well … giving home to numerous jackets, hats , scarves and what-have-you’s, as we casually passed by giving it nothing more than a casual glance.  Now, for the first time since our initial purchase,  I began entertaining thoughts of returning our expensive “hat rack” to it’s original purpose — exercise.  Ahh…”exercise”, such an interesting word.  When I was young, exercise and life blended hand in hand and all was right in the world.  Now that I’m in the “golden” years, the word “exercise” is like a bad taste in my mouth.  Boring and painful immediately come to mind because my few attempts at joining a gym, with visions of losing weight and toning up,  unfortunately ended shortly, and abruptly, after beginning.  Artificial exercise (aka exercise equipment) is a form of punishment equal to an excruciatingly bad day at the dentist’s office.  So, with that said, I made the resolution that I would start using the eliptical machine daily.  I WILL give myself a pat on the back for choosing to start with a mere 10 minute workout and adding 2 minutes each day until I reached the goal of 30 minutes.  I discovered a great pre-set program that kept me alert for changes such as arm pushing or pulling, a one minute burst of fast energy, reverse, and go-at-my-own-pace.  Now that I have reached my goal of 30 minutes, I have begun to increase the activity level.

I’m 17 days into this artificial form of torture and whereas,   I highly doubt this form of exercise will ever be my “friend,” I believe I can tolerate it. The reports I read say a person “of my age” should be involved in an active form of exercise for at least 30 minutes three times a week.  I would like to believe that this decision of mine might hold off any further body deteriation for awhile and for that, I would be forever greatful.

So….for now, I will continue with my intimate morning encounters with this demanding SOB.  BTW, panting and sweating is highly over rated.

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tolerating

  1. LindaLou says:

    That is so awesome Deb! Good for you! And good on you for starting a blog! I’m a fan already!

    Linda

  2. dbdaze says:

    Barbara, I love your reference to a “picnic.” Picnics are MUCH more fun when you give thought to what YOU want packed. Unfortunately, I haven’t figured out what it is I want in MY basket! Hopefully, I’ll get it figured out before someone takes my basket away!! lol So much to do and so little time … I do agree.

  3. Barbara Snow says:

    Each day I trudge to the pool….unwilling some times…….. I finally get in the water and do things with each of the folks in the class…..I get going and begin to enjoy the hour…..I am not sure that doing the same exercise every day like that is great……as your body adapts to what you are doing and the rewards are small……given that, I try to do different things with the same old exercises…….you are right, a half hour every other day keeps the doctor away, so maybe if you do it everyday, the doctor can go on vacation! It takes a real jolt of will power to keep going…..17 days is really great……each day, pat yourself on the back, because you “did it”……It is always a bit un-nerving to see parts of your body and mind fall apart……no one said old age was going to be a picnic….but I think that if we continue to pack the picnic basket with things to do (for ourselves!) we will ejnoy the new challenges. I was thinking the other day that I have “done” my retirement all wrong…….as I read about what my friends are doing, or have done…….If I had it to do all over again, I would do a bit more planning about what I was going to do with my time, then “do it” instead of talking about it. There are lots of things that I might have enjoyed if I had gotten on the bandwagon. I guess I really don’t have a lot of regrets……but there are so many things out there that a person can do!……..and so little time! Good luck on your fitness quest…..I am sure that you will have fun seeing what comes of all of your efforts and thoughts……

Leave a Reply

