New Beginnings

As we enter into the new year, Mr D and I have some ideas for where we wish life to take us. I use the word “ideas” rather than “plans” because as much as we hope these ideas pan out, there are certain components that remain out of our hands.

When we moved here to our present house 10+ years ago, it was like a dream come true.  We had both always dreamed of living in a log home and here we were,  living our dream!  It came with a private, yet not remote, setting surrounded by tall cedar trees, and a salmon spawning creek all on five acres.  Each time I drove up and the house came into view, I marveled that this was actually our home!  I truly figured we would live out our remaining days here.  We were happily content.

Log Home

Somehow we didn’t foresee a time in the future where we would grow old(er) and find the upkeep too much.  In all truthfulness, I think I might have refused to discuss this with Mr. D when it first became apparent.  I might have even went so far as to refuse to ever move!     I might as well confess right now, I would never win any awards for being the silently obedient wife.  On the one hand, it sounds so comforting to rely on, and trust, someone else to make all the final decisions in my life but on the other hand,  OMG I don’t think so!!!  For those of you who follow the bible version of “Who Rules This Home?” let me assure you that God and I are tight with this — He  totally understands my desire to call the shots be actively involved in the decision-making.   All He asks is that I work on being open-minded and continue to practice good communication skills.  So we’re cool!

Now to get back to the house.  Yes, I was a bit on the reluctant side when Mr. D first began explaining the need to downsize.  Since he has 10 years on me,  I hadn’t, as of yet, experienced the physical drain trying to keep up with all the work.  But in the meantime, we did something really cool — we took a trip to Costa Rica — and then two more!  We both found we were growing attached to Puerto Viejo, a  small town on the Caribbean coast,  so when the discussion rolled around yet again, we began entertaining thoughts of selling our home and belongings, and relocating to Costa Rica.  How cool is that?

sloth hanging from a tree

We’ve actually broadened our possibilities to include Ecuador as well. But reading about a place and experiencing it first-hand are two very different things!  We hope to visit and see for ourselves during our next trip down.

Mt Cotacachi, Ecuador

We’re both excited at the possibilities, while at the same time, acutely aware of the obstacles we face in making this a reality.

Too often as we get older we lose our dreams and ambitions and we settle for a mediocre existence.  Mr D and I hope, as we plow ahead, our “ideas” will indeed become “plans” and our dreams fulfilled.  2012 certainly has possibilities!

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Aging, Life, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Beginnings

  1. Jenners says:

    It has been awhile since you posted … so I’m hoping it is because you are busy living out your dreams and exploring new adventures!

  2. Marcia says:

    I love your transparency. I love your heart. . . And your boobies are beautiful! (The Drs. Are gorgeous.) you have always been inspiring to me, both you and Bruce, so loving and so blatantly apparent that it was one of Gods gifts to you both. I find you both like a tall cool glass of water on a hot day. . . Or the beverage of choice. I look forward to reading about your ideas and know full well they will take you to places and people who will all the richer for meeting you. Great photos!!! Xo mb

    • dbdaze says:

      Thank you, Marsh! I hope working with Bruce and I to get a condo doesn’t change your opinion of us. LOL We ping-pong high and low, from both of us being depressed that we have to downsize, to one of us, and then the other. We are just a ball full of laughs these days! (NOT) You are a great friend — my best laughs in life have been with you.

  3. Dean Martineau says:

    “silently obedient wife” . . . Having trouble wrapping my mind around this picture!

Leave a Reply

