Starring the One and Only … Mariah Day!

On October 17, 1980 I had the most amazing home birth.  Just Bruce and the kids (Sean, 13, Deidra, 4, and Dustin, 2) along with my friend Andy, who came as my coach.  Having now had three hospital births, I can honestly say this was the most enjoyable.  Yes, I said “enjoyable.”  There was no rush to pack last minute items, frantic call to the doctor, uncomfortable ride to the hospital or birth center, and most of all no unfamiliar faces, unnecessary requirements, or rules to follow.

Dim lights, warm tea and pleasant talk was the environment for my labor.  As Deidra and Dustin fed me ice chips and soft music played in the background, I very comfortably and easily gave birth to the most amazing little new daughter, Mariah.  Everything about her was perfect!

She has continued to amaze me through the years and I delight in her experiences, her choices and her compassion but she will forever be our  “Drama Queen.”

 

Blonde haired girl in bathing suit on the beach.

Young woman with sunglasses

With niece, Kali.

 

Gorgeous!

with smiley mask

So cute when you were little,

and so beautiful now!

 

WE LOVE YOU, MARIAH!!

Hope your birthday is full of marvelous surprises.

 

 

About dbdaze

Currently spending much of my time contemplating the remainder of my life ... realizing the importance of dreams that are fulfilled, support of those closest to you, and the value in downsizing and living with less.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Starring the One and Only … Mariah Day!

  1. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs
    really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark
    your website to come back down the road. All the best

  2. linda says:

    Beautiful! Beautiful blog and gorgeous girl!

  3. Bruce (dad) Day says:

    I always thought we should have named her “Squirt”, since she literally “squirted” into my hands when she was born…what great memories. Having Dr Mary Ellen Shields show up on our doorsteps at 4 AM with a bottle of champagne was the perfect ending to a surreal experience.

Leave a Reply

